Florida Farm Bureau Names 2013 Legislators of the Year and Champions of Agriculture

Gainesville – Florida Farm Bureau today announced its Legislators of the Year and Champions for Agriculture honorees.

Legislators of the Year

Farm Bureau’s Legislator of the Year award is given to state lawmakers who demonstrate excellent leadership and proactive efforts to advance the interests of Florida’s farmers and ranchers. The recipients will be formally recognized at Florida Farm Bureau’s Annual Meeting in October.

Senator Wilton Simpson

During the 2013 legislative session, Sen. Wilton Simpson was a driving force behind many agricultural priorities. He sponsored two Farm Bureau priority bills that strengthened Florida’s greenbelt law and promoted Everglades restoration and improvement. Sen. Simpson also utilized his agricultural experience to shepherd through a bill that reduces fire code regulations on many agricultural structures.

Read full article here

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment